Ottawa-Sandusky-Seneca Joint Solid Waste District

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes 4/6/22

The meeting of the OSS JSWMD Board of Directors was called to order by Commissioner at 12:14 p.m., held in person at The Empire 138 at 138 S. Washington Street, Tiffin. Present were Ottawa County Commissioners Don Douglas, and Mark Stahl, Sandusky County Commissioners Charles Schwochow, Scott Miller, and Russ Zimmerman, as well as Seneca County Commissioner Anthony Paradiso.

Present were the following OSS SWD staff: Community Outreach Specialist Tim Hassinger, and Director Gary Baty.

Prenesent through Zoom was Blake Austin representing Rumpke Waste and Recycling.

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: The draft of the minutes from the 2/9/2022 Board of Directors Meeting was presented. Motion to approve the meeting minutes for 2/9/2021 was made by Commissioner Miller and was seconded by Commissioner Douglas. Unanimous approval of those present was recorded. Motion approved.

FINANCIAL REPORT: Director Gary Baty presented the financial report for January and February. January's beginning balance was \$3,315,558.86 with a total revenue of \$382,691.40 and the total expenses for the month being \$144,305.21. There is an additional \$8,364.12 to add to the balance that is part of an EPA Grant for our special collection of tires making the end of month balance \$3,5562,309.17. For the month of February there was a total revenue of \$14,940.98 and an expense of \$131,321.85 leaving an ending balance for the month of February at \$3,445,928.30 with an addition of the remaining funds of the aforementioned EPA grant. (\$8,364.12). Commissioner Zimmerman motioned to approve the treasurer's report, seconded by Commissioner Paradiso. All commissioners present unanimously chose to approve of the financial report. Motion approved.

COLLECTION SCHEDULE OF EVENTS: The District's special collection dates were shared with the Board. Unlike previous years, there will only be one collection date for each of the four special collections the District holds. May 21st will be the TV & Electronics collection. Tuesday, June 14th will be for Township/City/Village Tires, followed by the Farm Tire collection on Wednesday, June 15th. Saturday, September 17th will be the Residential Tire collection. On October 15, the District will be having both the Household Hazardous Waste collection, and the Appliances collection. These two events will be happening at the same date, time, and location; registration for each event will need to be done separately.

5TH GRADE BILLBOARD CONTEST WINNERS: Congratulations to the winners of this year's 5th grade billboard contest. Winners in Ottawa County include Reuben Corona and Quinn DiBucci of Danbury Middle School, and Cora Edens of Genoa Elementary School. Sandusky County winners include Dakota Fetterman of Hilfiker Elementary School, Aubriana Wyant of Lakota Middle School, and Lia Sosa of Immaculate Conception School in Bellevue. Seneca County winners include Drew Faeth of New Riegel Elementary School, Autumn Porter of Seneca East Elementary School, and Enzo Reinhart of Calvert Catholic Schools. The District received 797 total entries in the contest with 3 winners from each county chosen to represent the District and their community.

JAN 2022 CFG VOTE: The first round of the 2022 Competitive Funding Grant ran in January has been reviewed by committee and is ready to be voted on for approval by the Board. There were a total of 5 applications with a total amount of requested grant funds being under the maximum the District would allow, there was no reason not to approve all of the grants. Commissioner Miller motioned to approve all grant applications of the first round of the 2022 CFG. Motion was seconded by Commissioner Douglas. All commissioners present unanimously chose to approve of the financial report. Motion approved. Winners of the first round of the CFG include the Village of Gibsonburg, City of Port Clinton, Krout Elementary School, City of Fremont, and Sandusky County Park District. Round 2 of the grant will run from May 1st through June 30th.

EXECUTIVE SESSION: The Board went into executive session to discuss OSS Staff at 12:54 and closed executive session at 1:14. Commissioner Paradiso motioned to enter executive session, seconded by Commissioner Zimmerman. Commissioner Douglas motioned to exit executive session, seconded by Commissioner Zimmerman.

NEW BUSINESS: No new business to discuss at this time.

ADJOURN: Commissioner Miller moved to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Stahl. Unanimous approval of those present was recorded. Motion approved.

NEXT BOARD MEETING

June 1, 2022.